Bruree GAA

Founded 1893

Co. Limerick

Bruree Rockhill CommUNITY Council Newsletter

Download our mobile app to hear more about Bruree GAA.

See More

Hi all. In case some people did not receive we are sharing the Newsletter distributed in December here.

New Community Council Established

A new Community Council was established in March 2022. The members are: Noel O’Halloran (Chairman), Annette Carey (Secretary), Margaret Deady(Treasurer), Jimmy Feane(Vice Chairman), Brendan Hogan (PRO), Vikki Jackson, Sile De Cléir , Barry O’Rourke. Judy Tobin, Noel Brosnan, Andrew Cussen, Mai McKieran, Claire Hudner, Eamon O’Dea, Eileen McMahon, Elaine O’Dwyer, Susan Kerwin, John Carey, Mike McCarthy, Dermot Kelly and Tom Searson

Community Plan

Following a series of four well attended public meetings held in the Community Hall earlier in the year, the basis for a community plan for the Rockhill/Bruree parish was agreed. This plan is currently being finalised by Ballyhoura Development on our behalf and will be launched at a public event in the new year.

Community Hall

Extensive works were carried out on the roof of the porch at the front of the community hall in August this year. The cost of the work was funded from the proceeds raised in last year’s fundraiser (car raffle).

The committee got great news during the week that their grant application for funding under the Community Centre Investment Fund was successful to the amount of €92,472.

De Valera Museum

The Community Council has been working with Limerick City and County Council with a view to progressing a Master Plan for the Museum. We are optimistic that further significant progress can be made on this during the course of 2023.

Tower House Ruins in Old Graveyard, Ballynoe

Serious concerns have been conveyed to the community council over a long period of time concerning the condition of the old castle. We conveyed these concerns to Limerick City and County Council. Following on from our representation some works have been carried out recently to help secure and maintain the structure. If you visit the graveyard, you will notice that a large amount of ivy has been removed from the structure. Limerick City and County Council will be making a further funding application to enable further works to be carried out, again next year. We would like to thank Sarah McCutcheon, Archaeologist, Limerick City and County Council for pursuing this and securing the necessary funding for the works.

School / Sportsfield Car Park

We were delighted with the resurfacing work carried out at the car park at the school/Sportsfield. We would like to thank all those who supported our efforts to get this job done and especially Diarmuid Sheehy, Limerick City and County Council.

Community Walkway

We were successful in our application for funding under the Leader Programme for a grant towards the cost of providing a community walkway at the Sportsfield. We were delighted to have been notified of a grant of €35,477 recently. This grant along with the monies raised in last year’s fundraiser (car raffle) will fund the project in full. We expect that works will begin on construction of the walkway in early summer 2023.

Astro Turf & Wall Ball

A feasibility study will be undertaken at the Sportsfield in early 2023 to determine options for the proposed Astro Turf and Wall Ball. The study will help produce engineering specs etc. We would hope to be in a position to submit the necessary planning application to the council in the summer of 2023.

Tidy Towns

The Tidy Towns volunteers had another very active year and secured an increase in marks in the National Tidy Towns Competition. The Committee would like to thank all the volunteers and all those too numerous to mention by name, who helped out with equipment and gave us their valuable time.The Tidy Towns structure is very informal and is an ideal way for people to become involved in our community without being too tied down with specific dates or times, you can help out whenever you can at a time that suits you. We would welcome new volunteers and if you are interested please contact any of the existing volunteers.

Bruree G.A.A. & Rockhill/Bruree Community Lotto

The Weekly Lotto resumed under a new committee in January this year. The Committee consists of the Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer of Bruree G.A.A. namely John O’Halloran, David Deady and Eamonn Sexton, the Treasurer of the Hall Committee- Eamonn O’Dea and the Treasurer of the Sportsfield Committee- Margaret Deady. Each of the three organisations benefit from the proceeds of the weekly lotto and we thank you for your continued support. Tickets are available online as well as local promoters including Bruree Post Office and Moloneys Bar.

We would also like to acknowledge the previous lotto committee who began the lotto and who ran it successfully from 1993 to 2021. The Committee comprised of members from Bruree G.A.A. and Rockhill Rovers A.F.C.- Jim O’Brien (R.I.P.) Danny Deady, Noel Brosnan, Jim O’Connor, Kit O’Halloran, Margaret Deady, Ger Murphy, Sean O’Connor, and James Lyons. We thank also the many sellers down through the years that made it the success it was.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play